YVCOG History

Founded in 1966, Yakima Valley Conference of Governments (YVCOG) is both a regional government and coordinating body under Washington state law. YVCOG was established by the valley’s community leaders as an association of local governments and agencies that voluntarily convene as a forum to address regional issues. This consortium has not only provided this forum (but now has grown to be a key player in the research for development of studies and plans needed to address these issues.)

YVCOG’s region encompasses Yakima County and 14 cities covering a total area of 4,311 square miles. YVCOG develops long range regional transportation plans and regional transportation improvement programs. Additionally, YVCOG bylaws provide for representation of Native American tribes and Air districts in the region.

Incorporation Dates
1865: Yakima County (established)
1883: Union Gap
1886: City of Yakima
1902: Sunnyside
1905: Mabton
1907: Toppenish
1908: Wapato
1909: Grandview
1909: Granger
1911: Zillah
1919: Selah
1921: Naches
1921: Moxee
1942: Tieton
1946: Harrah